Resilience Toolbox

Risk analysis and cost effectiveness of protection measures

The frequency of disasters caused by natural hazards has increased worldwide in recent years. This is due both to the effects of climate change and to the increasing population density in high-risk areas.

Appropriate protection measures can prevent or reduce the effects of dangerous incidents and thus help to avoid disasters. In order to employ resources where they are most effective, risk-based planning is of utmost importance. Furthermore, the cost-benefit analysis of protection measures supports coherent and systematic decision making.

Experience in Switzerland…

In Switzerland, “EconoMe” – the tool stipulated by the federal government for calculating the cost-effectiveness of protection measures against natural hazards – is used for this purpose. GEOTEST has co-developed this tool since 2005.

…adapted for other countries

In 2017, GEOTEST developed a WebGIS application based on EconoMe to calculate the risk of natural hazards in Bolivia and the cost-effectiveness of protection measures. Since 2018 the toolbox has been used by the Bolivian authorities.

More information about the project

Resilience Toolbox can easily be adapted to other contexts and used in other regions. You can contact us for more information without obligation.

The advantages of Resilience Toolbox at a glance

  • Objective risk assessment: Resilience Toolbox facilitates the assessment of the disaster risks arising from various natural hazards and evaluates the cost-effectiveness of disaster-risk-reduction measures in a quantitative and standardised manner.
     
  • Inclusion of comprehensive criteria: Using a WebGIS (web-based geographical information system) with a user-friendly interface, Resilience Toolbox combines hazard information (intensity and recurrence) with criteria concerning resilience and resistance. It considers both structural and non-structural measures and calculates the risks of direct and indirect effects of disasters – including the risks of infrastructure damage, mortality and economic losses.
     
  • Without software, without previous knowledge: Resilience Toolbox is geared towards professionals and authorities responsible for planning and financing disaster risk reduction measures. No knowledge of geographical information systems or specific software is required to use the toolbox.

Contact us:

Johanna Zwahlen

MSc Geographie

Projektleiterin

Johanna.Zwahlen@geotest.ch

+41 31 910 01 26


Other GEOTEST products

FeldApp

The digital field notebook for outdoor professionals. Designed to ensure consistent data collection.

GEO.Immobilien

Digital property management: keep an eye on the condition of your property.

ROFMOD

Rockfall modelling based on 2D profiles – as a basis for sound action planning.

ExploSKI

Maintain an overview of incoming, outgoing and stockpiled explosives.

Back to top

Resilience Toolbox

Analyse des risques et du rapport coût-efficacité de mesures de protection

Ces dernières années, la fréquence des catastrophes imputables à des dangers naturels a augmenté dans le monde. Les causes sont autant le changement climatique que la densité démographique croissante dans les zones à risques.

Des mesures appropriées peuvent prévenir ou réduire les conséquences d’évènements dangereux et ainsi éviter les catastrophes. Pour garantir que les ressources sont investies dans les stratégies les plus efficaces, il est essentiel de recourir à une planification fondée sur les risques. En outre, l’analyse du rapport coûts-efficacité des mesures facilite la prise de décisions cohérentes et systématiques.

L’expérience suisse…

En Suisse, on utilise pour cela «EconoMe», un outil servant à calculer le rapport coût-efficacité de mesures de protection. Mis à disposition par la Confédération, son utilisation est obligatoire. Depuis 2005, GEOTEST contribue au développement de cet instrument.

… adaptée pour les pays étrangers

En 2017, GEOTEST a créé, sur l’exemple d’EconoMe, une application Web SIG capable de calculer les risques et le rapport coût-efficacité en Bolivie. Cette toolbox est utilisée par les autorités boliviennes depuis 2018.

En savoir plus

La toolbox de résilience peut aisément être transposée à d’autres situations et utilisée dans d’autres régions du monde. N’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous pour obtenir des informations supplémentaires.

Les avantages de la Resilience Toolbox

  • Évaluation objective des risques: La Resilience Toolbox permet d’évaluer les risques de catastrophes imputables Ă  divers dangers naturels et d’analyser, de manière quantitative et normalisĂ©e, le rapport coĂ»t-efficacitĂ© des mesures de rĂ©duction des risques de catastrophes.
     
  • Prise en charge d’un grand nombre de critères: IntĂ©grĂ©e Ă  une application Web SIG (système d’information gĂ©ographique par internet) dotĂ©e d’une interface conviviale, la Resilience Toolbox combine des informations sur les dangers (intensitĂ© et rĂ©currence) Ă  des critères de rĂ©silience et de rĂ©sistance. Elle prend en compte les mesures tant structurelles que non structurelles et calcule le risque de consĂ©quences directes et indirectes des catastrophes, y compris le risque de dommages aux infrastructures, de mortalitĂ© ou de pertes Ă©conomiques.
     
  • Ni logiciel ni connaissances prĂ©alables: La Resilience Toolbox s’adresse aux experts et aux autoritĂ©s responsables de la planification et du financement de mesures de rĂ©duction des risques de catastrophes. Aucune connaissance des systèmes d’information gĂ©ographique et aucune exigence logicielle spĂ©cifique n’est requise pour utiliser cet instrument.

Contactez-nous:

Johanna Zwahlen

MSc Geographie

Projektleiterin

Johanna.Zwahlen@geotest.ch

+41 31 910 01 26


Autres produits de GEOTEST

FeldApp

Le carnet numérique des spécialistes de terrain. Pour une géolocalisation facilitée et une saisie de données homogène.

haute de page