ROFMOD

Modelling of rockfall processes

In order to plan effective protection measures, rockfall processes must first be calculated as precisely as possible. In a continuous learning process, we have been developing rockfall models since the early 1990s. The result is our software ROFMOD.

The rockfall modelling software ROFMOD was developed by GEOTEST about 30 years ago as the first of its kind. Our decades of experience with rockfall processes make the current version of ROFMOD a precise tool for planning protection measures against rockfall processes.

 

Application and strengths

ROFMOD is used to model rockfall processes over large areas in 3D overview representations (>100 km²) and detailed in 2D terrain profiles. The modelling approach is characterised by easily definable, intuitive model parameters (surface roughness, damping effect of the subsoil) and a very realistic modelling of the effects of forests.

The software performs calculations according to a deterministic modelling approach. This means that the decisive model parameters (block axes, subsoil, terrain surface, fracture zone, etc.) are defined by the user and are not varied. This guarantees easy control and interpretation of the results.

2D modelling: ROFMOD is available for you too!

We not only use ROFMOD as a calculation model for our own projects, but also make the software available to third parties. The original version (GEOTEST-Zinggeler) is now equipped with a modern user interface and provides very efficient and high quality rockfall modelling.

The better the models, the easier the planning

For the current version 5, the functionality has been expanded considerably and the user interface has been completely revised.

Contact us:

Robert Pfeifer

Dipl. Geograph

Projektleiter, Fachbereichsleiter (Stv.)

Robert.Pfeifer@geotest.ch

+41 31 910 01 62

New features of version 5

  • Scenario Manager: Different scenarios can now be defined and modelled in parallel in one project. The Scenario Manager makes it possible to manage the different settings of the model parameters and thus offers an efficient analysis of the modelling results.
     
  • Protection measures module: With the protection measures module, the effects of a falling block on a protection dam or safety net can be simulated. The results of the simulation provide the basis for the selection and dimensioning of the most suitable protection measure.
     
  • Protection dam: The novel protection dam simulation – unique worldwide – is based on a newly developed rheological approach. This approach was compared with the commonly applied static equivalent force method and calibrated on the basis of documented field tests.

Other GEOTEST products

FeldApp

The digital field notebook for outdoor professionals. Designed to ensure consistent data collection.

GEO.Immobilien

Digital property management: keep an eye on the condition of your property.

ExploSKI

Maintain an overview of incoming, outgoing and stockpiled explosives.

Back to top

ROFMOD

Chutes de pierres et de blocs: modélisation des processus

Pour pouvoir planifier des mesures de protection efficaces, il faut au préalable disposer d’informations aussi précises que possible sur les processus de chute.

Impliqués dans une démarche d’apprentissage permanent entre la science et la pratique, nous perfectionnons la modélisation des chutes de pierres depuis le début des années 1990. C’est de ces avancées qu’est né ROFMOD.

Logiciel de modélisation de chutes de pierres sur des profils de terrain 2D

La première version du logiciel de modélisation de chutes de pierres ROFMOD a été développée par GEOTEST il y a près de 30 ans. À cette époque, il n’existait rien de similaire. Cet outil de modélisation intègre plusieurs décennies d’expérience dans le domaine des chutes de pierres. Très précis, il facilite la planification de mesures de protection appropriées.

Application et atouts

ROFMOD est utilisé pour modéliser les chutes de pierres à grande échelle sur des représentations 3D (> 100 km²) et de manière détaillée sur des profils de terrain 2D. L’approche par modèles se caractérise en particulier par des paramètres intuitifs et facilement définissables (rugosité de la surface, amortissement du sol) et une modélisation très réaliste de l’effet de protection de la forêt.

Le logiciel adopte une approche déterministe: les paramètres déterminants du modèle tels que l’axe de chute, la nature du sol, la surface du terrain et la zone de rupture sont des valeurs fixes définies par l’utilisateur, ce qui facilite la vérification et l’interprétation des résultats.

Modélisation 2D: faites vous aussi l’expérience ROFMOD!

Nous utilisons ROFMOD et ses capacités de modélisation pour nos propres projets, mais nous le mettons également à disposition de tiers. La version originale, GEOTEST-Zinggeler, est aujourd’hui équipée d’une interface moderne; elle permet une modélisation très efficace et très pertinente des processus de chute.

Plus le modèle est bon, plus la solution est simple!

La version 5 intègre de nombreuses nouvelles fonctionnalités et dispose d’une interface totalement remodelée.

Contactez-nous:

Robert Pfeifer

Dipl. Geograph

Projektleiter, Bereichsleiter (Stv.)

Robert.Pfeifer@geotest.ch

+41 31 910 01 62

Nouvelles fonctionnalités de la version 5:

  • Gestionnaire de scĂ©narios: Il est dĂ©sormais possible de dĂ©finir et de modĂ©liser diffĂ©rents scĂ©narios en parallèle. Le gestionnaire de scĂ©narios permet de gĂ©rer les diffĂ©rentes configurations du modèle, offrant ainsi une analyse efficace des rĂ©sultats de la modĂ©lisation.
     
  • Module «Mesures de protection»: Le module «Mesures de protection» permet de simuler les effets de la chute d’un bloc de pierre sur un barrage de protection ou un filet pare-pierres. Le choix et le dimensionnement des mesures de protection adĂ©quates se fondent sur les rĂ©sultats de ces simulations.
     
  • Digue de protection: La simulation «Digue de protection», unique en son genre, repose sur une approche rhĂ©ologique rĂ©cemment dĂ©veloppĂ©e. Cette approche a Ă©tĂ© opposĂ©e Ă  la mĂ©thode courante de la force statique de remplacement et Ă©talonnĂ©e au travers d’essais documentĂ©s sur le terrain.

Autres produits de GEOTEST

FeldApp

Le carnet numérique des spécialistes de terrain. Pour une géolocalisation facilitée et une saisie de données homogène.

haute de page